Modjo’s “Lady” : memories of the video

May 2000. One day, my producer Anath sends me this tune “Lady (Hear me tonight)” and asks me to think about a music video. I listen a lot to the song, I find it absolutely melancholic and very romantic. Sadness mixed with joy.
So I come up with this bitter teenager love story :
Three teenagers, two boys and one girl, decide to run away together, and they want to have pleasure, fun and escape reality.
I write it quite fast, with “Virgin Suicides” and “Boys Don’t Cry” in mind.

Modjo, the band is french, but they made the choice to sing to everyone in the world : in english.
I am french too and I thought the video had to look the same, to be able to talk to everyone in the world, to be the most universal possible.
I wanted it to look like a mix of the USA and my french suburban hometown.
This is how, in June 2000, we take a plane and end up in Montreal, Quebec.

In Montreal we organize a casting session to find our three young heroes.
I was looking for three teenagers with a real relationship between them, no matter if it was friendship or love.
That’s how we found our beautiful teenager trio, three real friends in life.

In June 2000, we went on a road trip on the roads of Quebec.

Locations are listed on this page :

https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=1g9wR_Zo2l7lf6GkVEG8IxDYeKeg

Yann and Romain from Modjo appear in the video : they sell the car to the three teenagers.

 

Capture d’écran 2016-06-29 à 09.40.32

These are Polaroids from “Lady” Casting session.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Modjo’s “Lady” : memories of the video

  1. To this day, this is one of the most beautiful and genuine videos of on screen love I’ve ever seen. The chemistry between the three teenagers is electric and moving. It gives me the chills its so perfect. This level of authenticity is rare.

    I had this video on an old dusty hard-drive that I’ve just, finally, sorted after many years. It was so touching to see it again and have the same affect on me. Really glad I went to look up the backstory that you’ve so kindly posted.

    I now live in Canada; so it now has lots of new meaning to me. My fiancé and I might even visit the filming locations next time we’re out in Quebec.

    A heartfelt thank you, from all the hopeless romantics that fell in love to this video.

Leave a Reply

